A conversation with Prof Brandon Scott and Dr Greg Jenks on the new important Westar Institute book, After Jesus Before Christianity.

From the creative minds of the scholarly group behind the groundbreaking Jesus Seminar comes this provocative and eye-opening look at the roots of Christianity that offers a thoughtful reconsideration of the first two centuries of the Jesus movement, transforming our understanding of the religion and its early dissemination.

Synthesizing the Westar Institute’s most recent scholarship—bringing together the many archaeological and textual discoveries over the last twenty years—they have found:

  • There were multiple Jesus movements, not a singular one, before the fourth century
  • There was nothing called Christianity until the third century
  • There was much more flexibility and diversity within Jesus’s movement before it became centralized in Rome, not only regarding the Bible and religious doctrine, but also understandings of gender, sexuality and morality.

Exciting and revolutionary, After Jesus Before Christianity provides fresh insights into the real history behind how the Jesus movement became Christianity.

Bp Jeremy Greaves has arranged an Eventbrite link…. A conversation with Prof Brandon Scott and Dr Greg Jenks on the new important Westar Institute book, You are invited to link in (see below for date and details) to this January event.

it will be on Tuesday 25 January at 11.00am (Brisbane time); 9am Perth, 11.30am Adelaide,Noon Sydney, Melbourne, Hobart, 10.30 Darwin.

Here’s the link to the zoom conversation with Brandon and Greg. Jeremy will be the host and facilitator.

https://www.eventbrite.com/e/after-jesus-before-christianity-a-conversation-with-brandon-scott-tickets-226723886247

Enquiries can be directed to Jeremy.

oOo

3 thoughts on “A conversation with Prof Brandon Scott and Dr Greg Jenks on the new important Westar Institute book, After Jesus Before Christianity.

  1. Paul Inglis Post author

    Yes Jill, You should use the link we have provided. If you are not familiar with Zoom or need some advice on the process just send an email to Jeremy requesting information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.